Welcome at Between The Lines Records

Top of Page

New Releases On Between The Lines Records

Christophe Schweizer's Young Rich & Famous: Grand Grace

bildbeschreibung

Young in years, but rich in experience: becoming famous is certainly possible, even if not among a listening audience that above all is searching for choice simplicity. It goes without saying that a musician with an innate pun as a name (and the last name betrays the country of birth) would also give his band a name with a twinkle in his eye: Young Rich & Famous. When a CD is then also titled "Grand Grace", then you can assume that the music is full of creativity, spontaneity, wisdom and even courage. As Christophe Schweizer (trans. note: name translates as "Swiss") explains in his liner notes, you cannot say in advance how listeners will find the music and what it will trigger in them. With improvising musicians, you can't even say in advance how they will interpret and adorn the compositions. You know that even less when flowing transitions from written down and improvised passages are aimed for as with Grand Grace, which are then barely discernible when you listen to them. Schweizer is that much happier that the interpretations by Wanja Slavin, Oliver Potratz and Christian Lillinger “are much more beautiful than everything that I wished for beforehand." Compositions, which develop an almost hypnotic stimulus due to their structure, are made even more intensive thanks to the improvisations and radiate their own magic. This quartet was formed to present a gift of music to every listener with a free spirit and unprejudiced auditory canals.

Releasedate: May 2015
read more!

Gebhard Ullmann Basement Research: Hat And Shoes

bildbeschreibung

Gebhard Ullmann celebrates twenty years of his band Basement Research with a striking new CD Hat and Shoes to be released February 10, 2015 on Between the Lines. Featuring the renowned multi-instrumentalist Ullmann, trombonist Steve Swell, saxophonist Julian Argüelles, bassist Pascal Niggenkemper, and drummer Gerald Cleaver, the band’s 7th CD showcases improvisors at the top of their game and Ullmann’s rich, dynamic compositions. This is Ullmann’s 50th CD as a leader/co-leader.

Basement Research’s first album – featuring Ullmann with Ellery Eskelin, Drew Gress and Phil Haynes – was released in 1995 on the Italian label Soul Note. Many albums later and following careful changes in the line-up, the consistency of the research project is still clearly detectable: discovering the basis of improvised music, the mechanism of musical dialog, the search for previously unheard sounds and the secret of nonverbal, intuitive communication between individuals. This only works live and in real time. It is not a matter of chance that all previous six albums by Basement Research were released in connection with or as the result of a tour.

Releasedate: January 2015
read more!

Homepage: www.gebhard-ullmann.com

Reto Suhner - Fabian M. Mueller: Schattenspiel

bildbeschreibung

Two people, two instruments. Sound aesthetics developed jointly over the years. Dialogs with depth, improvisations with strong melodies and breathtaking building up of tension. What Reto Suhner and Fabian M. Mueller develop in free communication is of ecstatic beauty. They find hidden paths with uncanny instinct through the jungle of improvisation, feel their way playfully through harmonic sequences and even make discoveries in minimalistic or noisy passages. This common base has developed over many years, and the time has finally come to document this extremely fruitful duet work. In their respective working bands (Reto Suhner Quartett and FM Trio) of many years, both dedicate themselves to the limits of the composed and the improvised. As a duet, they go into a free fall of inspiration and impulses of the moment. That could end with a hard landing, but not with Mueller and Suhner. Their playing is not without prerequisites, but instead is based on solid training, mature playing technique, years of playing in practice and a generous dose of curiosity. As a result, the music grows wings and the free fall ends in blissful floating.

Releasedate: November 2014
read more!

Homepage: www.retosuhner.com/

Scott Fields String Feartet: Mostly Stick

bildbeschreibung

One year after "Kintsugi" (BTLCHR 71235) and shortly after the double CD "Haydn" (BTLCHR 71237), a third CD by the Scott Fields String Feartet is being released on Between The Lines. Contrary to its direct predecessor, there is no explicit reference to classical composers anymore. Scott Fields' guitar also takes up more space, even though it is a special feature of "Feartet" that the ensemble playing is in the foreground. Despite all specifications with respect to the compositions and detailed arrangements, the leeway for improvising can be heard in all instruments all the time. Freely created lines of individual musicians cross almost unnoticed with the composed parts. Fields succeeds in creating a perfect symbiosis of both parts such as is seldom heard. The "master juggler between improvised jazz and new music" (jazzpodium, May 2014) presents six "comprovisation" on Mostly Stick, from which the majority also easily surpass the 10-minute limit. He titles them again with subtle humor: "Carolina Reaper" refers to the hottest chilli variety in the world, "Hello to Jason Isaacs" refers to the British actor who became know through Harry Potter films and "Schmatta" is a word from Yiddish which means "rags" (in the sense of inferior clothes) that has entered everyday speech in the USA.

Releasedate: October 2014
read more!

Scott Fields String Feartet: Haydn

bildbeschreibung

The “Haydn” music is not first time that Scott Fields has used classical material as source material. He composed a similar project 10 years ago for choreographer Li Chiao-Ping’s "Bach Project", which was based on the six suites for cello by Johann Sebastian Bach (BWV 1007-1012). Using this experience, Fields explains, "I began my assault on the Sun Quartets. The object was to make a new work while preserving Haydn’s DNA." In this radical revision and reinterpretation, the traditional performance mode of classical music is really shaken up. Variations in performances of classical music stem from nuances of different interpretations of written-down material, whether as true to the original as possible or modernized or somewhere in between.

Releasedate: August 2014
read more!

Willkommen bei Between The Lines

Google

Diese Seiten
Web
Seitenanfang

Herzlich willkommen auf den Internetseiten von Between The Lines.

Neue Releases auf Between The Lines

Christy Doran's Sound Fountain: Belle Epoque

bildbeschreibung

Etwas Neues, Ungewohntes tönt da aus Christy Dorans Familie der vereinigten Klänge nach außen. Voilà: Wir verkünden voller Stolz die Geburt von „Sound Fountain“! Kräftig wirkt er, der gerade erst in diese Welt gepurzelte Sprössling des Schweizer Gitarristen und Elektrotüftlers, putzmunter, laut, lärmend, wuselig, kaum zu bändigen. Weil Christys Sonnenschein „New Bag“ mit der Sängerin Sarah Buechi, Vincent Membrez am Moog-Synth und Rhodes sowie Lionel Friedl an den Drums inzwischen schon 18 Jahre auf dem Buckel hat, aber dennoch nie so richtig erwachsen geworden ist, übermannte den 67-Jährigen offenbar die übergroße Sehnsucht nach jenen Zeiten, als alles noch ein bisschen ungeordneter, anarchistischer ablief. Damals, als die Kinder noch Baumhäuser anzündeten, an Hauswände pinkelten, Briefkästen explodieren ließen, Frösche aufbliesen, sich pausenlos prügelten, ständig auf der Flucht vor irgendwas und irgendwem waren und Papa nur milde lächelnd dem wilden Treiben zusah.

VÖ-Datum: 05.06.2016
Lesen sie mehr hier!

Christophe Schweizer's Young Rich & Famous: Grand Grace

bildbeschreibung

Jung an Jahren, und doch schon reich an Erfahrung – und berühmt zu werden ist allemal möglich. Wenn auch nicht bei einer Hörgemeinde, die in der Musik vor allem ausgesuchte Schlichtheit sucht. Es versteht sich von selbst, dass ein Musiker mit einem angeborenen Namensspiel (bei dem der Nachname das Geburtsland verrät) auch seiner Band solch einen augenzwinkernden Namen verleiht: Young Rich & Famous. Wenn eine CD dann auch noch mit „Grand Grace“ (Große Gnade) betitelt wird, kann man davon ausgehen, dass auch der musikalische Inhalt voller Kreativität, Spontanität, Weisheit und auch Mut steckt. Wie Christophe Schweizer in seinen Liner Notes erläutert, kann man als Komponist nicht vorher sagen, wie die Musik beim Hörer ankommt und was sie auslöst. Bei improvisierenden Musikern kann man noch nicht einmal vorher sagen, wie die Kompositionen von ihnen gedeutet und ausgekleidet werden. Noch weniger weiß man das, wenn wie bei Grand Grace fließende Übergange von notierten und improvisierten Passagen angestrebt werden – die beim Hören dann auch kaum noch erkennbar sein sollen. Umso glücklicher ist Schweizer, dass die Interpretationen von Wanja Slavin, Oliver Potratz und Christian Lillinger „noch viel schöner geworden sind als alles, was ich mir zuvor gewünscht hatte“. Kompositionen, die schon durch ihre Gestaltung einen oft geradezu hypnotischen Reiz entwickeln, werden durch die Improvisationen noch weiter intensiviert und strahlen eine eigene Magie aus. Dieses Quartett hat sich gefunden, um jedem Hörer mit freiem Geist und freien Gehörgängen ein musikalisches Geschenk zu machen.

VÖ-Datum: 15.05.2015
hier!

Gebhard Ullmann Basement Research: Hat And Shoes

bildbeschreibung

Gebhard Ullmann feiert das 20-jährige Bestehen seiner Band Basement Research mit einer neuen CD auf Between the Lines. Es ist die siebte CD – und sie präsentiert die Formation auf ihrem Höhepunkt! Gleichzeitig ist „Hat And Shoes“ die 50. CD Gebhard Ullmanns (als Leader bzw. Co-Leader)!

Das erste Album von Basement Research erschien 1995 auf dem italienischen Label Soul Note. Damals noch in der ersten Besetzung mit Gebhard Ullmann, Ellery Eskelin, Drew Gress und Phil Haynes. Viele Alben später und nach einigen behutsamen Wechseln in der Besetzung die Konstanz des Forschungsprojekts weiter klar erkennbar: Es geht um das Auffinden des Fundaments improvisierter Musik, um die Mechanismen musikalischer Dialoge, das Suchen nach bisher ungehörten Klängen und nach dem Geheimnis der nonverbalen, intuitiven Kommunikation zwischen Individuen. Das funktioniert am Besten in der Praxis – nicht umsonst sind ausnahmslos alle Alben von Basement Research im Zusammenhang oder als Folge einer Tournee erschienen.

VÖ-Datum: 16.01.2015
Lesen sie mehr hier!

Homepage: www.gebhard-ullmann.com

Reto Suhner - Fabian M. Mueller: Schattenspiel

bildbeschreibung

Zwei Menschen, zwei Instrumente. Eine über Jahre entwickelte, gemeinsame Klangästhetik. Dialoge mit Tiefgang, Improvisationen mit starken Melodien, und ein überwältigender Spannungsaufbau. Was Reto Suhner und Fabian M. Mueller in der freien Kommunikation entwickeln, ist von einer rauschhaften Schönheit. Traumwandlerisch sicher finden sie die versteckten Pfade durch den Dschungel der Improvisation, ertasten spielerisch die harmonischen Abläufe und finden sich auch in minimalistischen oder geräuschhaften Passagen. Über viele Jahre hat sich diese gemeinsame Basis entwickelt, nun wurde es einfach Zeit, diese so fruchtbare Duo-Arbeit zu dokumentieren. In ihren jeweiligen langjährigen Working Bands (Reto Suhner Quartett und FM Trio) widmen sich beide den Grenzbereichen des Geschriebenen und Improvisierten. Im Duo begeben sie sich in den freien Fall, in die Inspirationen und Eingebungen des Moments. Das könnte mit einem harten Aufprall enden – nicht aber bei Mueller und Suhner: ihr Spiel ist natürlich nicht voraussetzungslos, sondern basiert auf solider Ausbildung, ausgereifter Spieltechnik, jahrelanger Praxis und üppig vorhandener Neugierde. So wächst der Musik Flügel, und der freie Fall endet in einem selig machenden Dahinschweben.

VÖ-Datum: 24.10.2014
Lesen sie mehr hier!

Homepage: www.retosuhner.com/

Scott Fields String Feartet: Mostly Stick

bildbeschreibung

Ein Jahr nach „Kintsugi“ (BTLCHR 71235) und kurz nach der Doppel-CD „Haydn“ (BTLCHR 71237) erscheint nun die dritte CD des Scott Fields String Feartet auf Between The Lines. Anders als beim direkten Vorgänger gibt es keinen expliziten Bezug mehr zu einem klassischen Komponisten. Die Gitarre Scott Fields nimmt auch wieder mehr Raum ein – auch wenn es gerade ein besonderes Kennzeichen des „Feartet“ ist, dass das Ensemblespiel im Vordergrund steht. Trotz aller kompositorischen Vorgaben und detaillierten Arrangements ist der improvisatorische Freiraum aller Instrumente zu jeder Zeit hörbar. Fast unbemerkt verschränken sich frei kreierte Linien einzelner Beteiligter mit den komponierten Anteilen. Fields gelingt eine perfekte Symbiose der beiden Anteile, wie man sie selten hört. Der „Meisterjongleur zwischen improvisiertem Jazz und Neuer Musik“ (jazzpodium Mai 2014) präsentiert auf Mostly Stick sechs „Komprovisationen“, von denen auch die Mehrheit wieder locker die 10-Minuten-Grenze überspringen. Und betitelt sie wieder mit hintergründigem Humor: „Carolina Reaper“ verweist auf die schärfste Chili-Sorte der Welt, „Hello to Jason Isaacs“ verweist auf den britischen Schauspieler, der durch die Harry Potter-Verfilmungen bekannt wurde, „Schmatta“ ist ein Wort aus dem jiddischen und hat die Bedeutung „Klamotten“ (im Sinne von minderwertiger Kleidung) – und ist in den USA in den englischen Alltags-Sprachgebrauch eingegangen.

VÖ-Datum: 26.09.2014
Lesen sie mehr hier!